Jul 11, 2006
Another Orkut phishing attempt
Hi all,
as usual u might get an email or message or scrap to join community or add friend request or whatever else, this time with a difference .. the link, which in all probability you wont notice, will take you to a fake orkut site.. this one ..
www..ork0t..com - thats a zero not an o.
www..ork0t..com - thats a zero not an o.
STAY AWAY from it. It is a fake orkut site used for phishing (stealing your identity, images and other details as well) purposes.
I have contacted that site’s web host as well as orkut with this issue.. BUT YOU make sure you double check on any orkut related link u click on atleast until we are able to get this site down.
leave ur questions in comments ..
Further reading:
- What is phishing?
- Orkut Members need to be more careful
- Did google force fake orkut site offline?
- Social networking weblog
Useful Links:

2 Comments, Comment or Ping
Nikhil
the orkut link is
http://www.orkut.com
So I don’t think people will buy it when they replace a U with a 0 ! they don’t even match !
sheeesh
Jul 16th, 2006
vishnu
arre nikhil its not that people will type it.. that typo will be found in links such as join community, check this website emails and scraps.
ppl generally dont check these links before clicking them.
Jul 17th, 2006
Reply to “Another Orkut phishing attempt”